Photo Essay: The Historical Jubilees of His Highness the Aga Khan (1877-1957), the Imam of the Socio-Economic Revolution

What a long journey through Abdul Malik Merchant’s well researched Weblog of http://www.simerg.com! Bless him.

Simerg Photos - Photos, Images and Videos from Around the World

Compiled by Malik Merchant, Editor
(On some browsers, please refresh page if only thumbnails appear)

I. 1885: Enthronement at Age Seven as 48th Ismaili Imam

November 2, 2015, marks the 138th birth anniversary of the 48th Ismaili Imam, His Highness the Aga Khan, Sir Sultan Mahomed Shah. Born in Karachi in 1877, he succeded his father, Imam Shah Aly Shah (a.s.), Aga Khan II, to the hereditary throne of the Ismaili Imamat in August 1885, when he was only seven. Soon after assuming the Imamat, he reminded his followers of his noble status as well as lineage from the Holy Prophet Muhammad (s.a.s.), and instilled in them courgage, confidence and hope at a time when they felt sad at the loss of their beloved 47th Imam. The seven year old Imam declared:

O Jamat do not consider me small. I am the descendant of the Prophet and my grandfather is Hazrat Amirul Mominin (Hazrat Ali) and my grandmother is Khatoon-e-Janat (the Lady of Paradise) Hazrat Bibi Fatima. I am the Light (Nur) of…

View original post 8,044 more words

Published by

zarinaspeaks

I am an activist for World Peace, Justice, Human Rights and a better world. I do not want to change to Gavatar icon as I like the one I have had for a few years now! I say little about my education, and put no picture as the content is important not appearance or unnecessary self-praise.

One thought on “Photo Essay: The Historical Jubilees of His Highness the Aga Khan (1877-1957), the Imam of the Socio-Economic Revolution”

Leave a Reply

