Misconceptions about Shia Islam: A Sunni perspective | Pakistan Herald

Pity that Muslims in this day and age do not belong to One Ummah and remain so petty!

Ismailimail

Misconceptions about Shia Islam: A Sunni perspective @ Pakistan HeraldThe start of holy month of Moharram witnesses a serious debate regarding Shia Islam amongst the Sunni Muslims of Pakistan. Unfortunately in many of the aspects, this debate is driven by emotions and misconceptions and has no knowledge based reasoning.

The misguiding concepts of the two groups about each other have done nothing more than seriously destroying the unity of Muslims around the world while provoking hatred and anger for each other. The discussions are mostly superficial and I being a Sunni myself do not believe in the core Shia concepts but I was once a believer of many misconceptions regarding Shias. However, it was not long ago that I started reading things by myself and having discussions with many shia friends on the misconceptions with a rational basis. I would like to share my evolution of thought in this matter with an aim of bringing harmony between the two…

View original post 21 more words

Published by

zarinaspeaks

I am an activist for World Peace, Justice, Human Rights and a better world. I do not want to change to Gavatar icon as I like the one I have had for a few years now! I say little about my education, and put no picture as the content is important not appearance or unnecessary self-praise.

One thought on “Misconceptions about Shia Islam: A Sunni perspective | Pakistan Herald”

  1. What would you like to know about Shia Imami Ismaili Muslim faith as is also known as the Nizari Ismaili faith. Shia Imami Ismailis are so-called because it is the only ‘Tariqah’ or path in Islam that is based on a Hereditary Imam that is directly descended from Prophet Muhammad who nominated his son Hazrat Ali, who was already married to his surviving daughter at the time of his returning from the last ‘Hajj’ or Pilgrimage from Mecca. He was commanded by Allah to fulfil his final mission and proclaim his successor, not a Caliph or Khalifa as he was the Final Prophet but an ‘Imam’ a Guide for mankind to carry on with the new faith of Islam. He took the hand of Ali who had caught up with them saying, Ali is the Mowla whose I am Mowla. Abu Bakr later the first Sunni Khalifa did ‘bayyah’ or took allegiance of the Prophet and embraced the faith openly declaring his allegiance to Islam established by the Prophet.
    Of course, it is well documented elsewhere in the Wikipedia and elsewhere, so please forgive my short summary or account at Ghadir-e-Khum an Oasis. You will find a better explanation from the editor of http://www.simerg.com who is my Mentor. I merely studies Social Anthropology at a post-graduate level. The Institution of Imamat or Imamah is unique in this faith with Only One Imam at a time whose presence is inevitable through this hereditary principle. The present holder of this role is H.H.Aga Khan IV, in fact, the 49th directly descended Imam from Hazrat Ali the first Imam. I finally refer you to http://www.akdn.org or Aga Khan Development Network. Please forgive my inadequacy.

Leave a Reply

