Photo Essay: The Ismaili Jamatkhana in Myanmar, With Notes on the Community’s Patriotic Spirit

It seems there is an Ismaili Jamatkhana in Myanmar

Simerg Photos - Photos, Images and Videos from Around the World

Editor’s note: This post is an amalgamation of selected photos of the Ismaili jamatkhana in Rangoon taken by Muslim Harji of Montreal Canada during his recent visit to Burma (now Myanmar) with photos and text produced in an earlier piece under the title “Burmese Patriotism” on this blog’s companion literary website, http://www.simerg.com. In the coming weeks, Simergphotos will be publishing more photos from Harji’s exciting seven-week trip to SE Asia. The photo essays will cover many important aspects of life in Myanmar as well as Laos and Vietnam.

PHOTOS AND TEXT BY MUSLIM HARJI 
(with additional research and material by Abdulmalik J. Merchant and other sources)

Myanmar Jamat

A group photo of visitors with members of Myanmar jamat. Photo: Muslim Harji. Copyright.

I recently spent seven exciting weeks crisscrossing Myanmar (formerly known as Burma), Cambodia and Vietnam with my wife Nevin, and my sister, Mehrun, and her husband Suleman of Edmonton. As part of my visit to Burma, I was very happy to visit the Ismaili jamatkhana in Rangoon (or Yangon) and meet members…

View original post 1,363 more words

Published by

zarinaspeaks

I am an activist for World Peace, Justice, Human Rights and a better world. I do not want to change to Gavatar icon as I like the one I have had for a few years now! I say little about my education, and put no picture as the content is important not appearance or unnecessary self-praise.

Leave a Reply

