Religious Leaders Honoured for their Global Humanity

My Personal Message About: Rt Revd David Urquhart, Doctor of Divinity

David Urquhart was appointed Bishop of Birmingham in 2006.  After being educated at Rugby and Ealing College Business School David went on to work as a volunteer in Uganda and then joined BP and worked in various commercial roles for ten years before training for the ministry at Wycliffe Hall, Oxford.  He was curate at St Nicholas, Kingston upon Hull from 1984 to 1987, Team Vicar of Drypool from 1987 to 1992, and from 1992 to 2000 Vicar of Holy Trinity, Coventry.  He was the Suffragan Bishop of Birkenhead from 2000 until his appointment as Bishop.  In 2005 he was made Prelate of the Most Distinguished Order of St Michel and St George.

I am very pleased to know this as I share some of the issues. I came from Uganda, went to the Univ of Oxford and am also on Alumni list of Birmingham University. I take pride in religious leaders like him who devote themselves for the upliftment of Humanity, globally.

Another example is that of HH Aga Khan who recently got this Honour of getting Doctor of Divinity at Cambridge University, the first Muslim in 300 years!

Published by

zarinaspeaks

I am an activist for World Peace, Justice, Human Rights and a better world. I do not want to change to Gavatar icon as I like the one I have had for a few years now! I say little about my education, and put no picture as the content is important not appearance or unnecessary self-praise.

Leave a Reply

